Year 11 Rugby Team win 7-a-side tournament

Our Year 11 Boys’ Rugby Team, have be crowned champions of the annual 7-a-side tournament.

The Year 11 team celebrating their win

This tournament is played on a round robin format, with other schools participating being Queen Elizabeth Grammar School of Penrith, Keswick School and Nelson Thomlinson of Wigton.

The first game played produced the best game of the tournament with the favourites Queen Elizabeth playing St Benedict’s. In an end to end encounter, St Benedict’s just edged it with Tor Supyai scoring a last minute try to secure a 22-19 victory. Other try scorers were Harvie Hill, Supyai (making it a brace) and Ben Park, Noel Branthwaite, converting only 1.

Second game was against a strong Nelson Thomlinson side. St Benedict’s breezed into a 21-0 lead, tries scored by Supyai (2) again, and Hill, all converted by Branthwaite. But Nelson Thomlinson came back strongly in the second period to win the game with a score line of 24-21.

Last game against Keswick School, St Benedict’s easily won by 28-5. Try scorers being Supyai (2), Branthwaite and Hill, all being converted by Branthwaite.

With a bonus point structure being applied, St Benedict’s finished 2 points clear of the nearest rivals Queen Elizabeth to be crowned winners.

The full squard was: Deon Crowe, Taylor Richardson, Harvie Hill, Noel Branthwaite, Kyran Lofthouse, Ben Park, Sam King, Tor Supyai and Jake Rothery.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.