Sixth Form Students Honoured at Awards Evening

Talented former students from St Benedict’s Catholic High School have returned for a special evening to celebrate their A-Level successes and time spent at the Sixth Form Centre.

The annual Celebration of Achievement Evening was held on Monday 17th December, with students returning with their parents and families to pick up their A-Level certificates, along with some very special awards.

Steve Bridgman, Acting Headteacher at St Benedict’s, said:

“We are very proud of our students, and the awards evening is an opportunity to celebrate their achievements and recognise the hard work, dedication and support which lies behind their successes.”

The ceremony showcased the high achieving students who received their A-Levels in the summer of 2018 by handing out individual awards alongside the A-Level certificates.

Awards handed out covered Academic Excellence; Outstanding Progress and Outstanding Effort & Contribution in all subjects, as well as individual awards for Outstanding Dedication to their studies, and Outstanding Achievement in A-Levels.

Notable winners included Cameron Bowskill who won both the Award for Outstanding Achievement in A Level Examinations, and a new award The Denvir Award for Maths. This new award was sponsored by Mrs Lowrey from St Benedict’s. Cameron gained 4 A*s and is now studying Physics at Oriel College, Oxford.

Amy Fox also received the Outstanding Achievement in A Levels award, following her impressive results in the summer of 2 As and 1 B and is now studying Maths at Newcastle.

Lamont Pridmore once again sponsored a special award, presenting the Business Studies Student of the Year Award to former student, Emily Winter.

Jasper Lithgow and Jasmine Butterworth both received awards for Outstanding Dedication to Sixth Form Study.

Sheena Kar, Director of Learning at the Sixth Form comments:

“Congratulations to all our students, we are very proud of their achievements and wish them all the success for their future.”

Mrs Tomlinson with Jasmine & Jasper

Mr Charlton with Emily Winter

Award Winners Cameron Bowskill & Amy Fox

Related Posts

Comments are closed.